Tasting Australia Placement Day 1

Today was my first day in the placement role as an Event Coordinator Assistant for Tasting Australia. I am so excited for the projects I will be working on over the next 8 weeks and look forward to helping make this event a huge success!

Fellow TAFE SA student and friend, Yi, and I started at 9:30am this morning at the King William Street Office of the South Australian Tourism Commission. My gosh, it is picturesque! Amazing views of the street below just from level 4.

This morning my very first task was to meet with the committee responsible for the Town Square festivities taking place 30 April – 7 May 2017 at Victoria Square. I met with my Coordinator, Maddie, and joined the team which includes well-known chef and Tasting Australia Creative Director; Simon Byrant. Read about Simon’s involvement withTasting Australia here.

The meeting was very involved, fair enough to say that most of it was a complete whirlwind, but as I’ll be involved in these meetings every week, I am sure I will get the gist of it. Particularly I am excited to get involved and collaborate with the marketing team at East End Cellars who organise the wine events program. On further investigation, there are so many appealing events on offer, including a Grange Experience, 6 vintages of St Henri Shiraz, and The Glory of Grenache.

Today, I also learnt about trailblazing wine maker, Taras Ochota, who is also an Ambassador for the festival this year. Taras wine-making philosophy involves no preservatives, sulphites, and completely organic. This means they cannot go into the cellar, but provide a clean, natural taste. I can’t wait to try it! Taras is also hosting an event called The Surprise Session, where he will collaborate with US winemaker, Rajat Parr, for a fun un-planned evening.

After lunch at Cibo (yes I can’t resist food photos!), Yi and I got to work on creating databases for brochure and program mail-outs. Some of the places I investigated included regions such as Barossa Valley, Flinders Ranges, and the Fleurieu Peninsula. I also sourced information on winemakers, hosting their own events during the festival, and discovered many places in SA I hadn’t heard of before, such as; Wines by KT, Lucy Margaux, and Jauma Wines.

Overall my first day was very busy and insightful. I had a wonderful time meeting the SATC team and was delighted to receive responsibilities immediately, giving me a sense of belonging. Next week, Maddie and I will work together to look at projects I will be solely responsible right up until the festival. I’m really looking forward to it!

Author: Narelle Pignotti

lover of words . travel junkie . fundraising advocate . community spirit . photography enthusiast .

Leave a Reply

