Happy International Women’s Day!

Know one thing, you are all stars, and you deserve to be celebrated every single day. I hope you do!

Wow. You know, sometimes, what appears to be the mundane really knocks me for six. Today my mind was completely blown during my Leadership class. But more on that later!

Happy International Women’s Day! I love honouring and cherishing the important women in my life, and letting them know how much they make a positive, supportive and uplifting impact on my life.

The Number One Woman in my life is my mum. She always picks up the phone when I call, listens to all my heartaches and celebrates my successes. She is patient, kind and understanding when I am heartbroken and soothing and encouraging when I want to give up. My mum supports my dreams no matter how crazy they seem, she provides positive creative solutions to problems, and most importantly; she guides me to be a better version of myself, a more kind and loving family member, and a mature independent woman.

Shout out to my mum: Thank you for all you’ve done, and continue to do mum, you are such a shining star, and I will be forever grateful that I got you as my mum. You’re my best friend, my twin soul, and my giggle buddy 24/7 and I love you sooooo much! Thank you for being honestly and uniquely you, you are an inspiration to everyone you meet and make life so much brighter just by being in it.

Contestant number two is my amazing best friend Eerin. She is a super crazy cat I met in year 9 science class. Two more opposite people couldn’t have been closer friends. We went on the wild high school ride in the noughties and climbed the emotional career ladder in the years proceeding. Though our paths are very different, she is always there for me no matter what, with a love and a bond that can move mountains. I absolutely love her zaniness to death, and am so appreciative of her kind and generous support, no BS approach to getting things done, strong dedication to creating success for herself and those around her, and incredibly whacky personality. Also, she has the wildest laugh! Eerin is such a gem and I am so blessed to call her my best friend.

Another amazing friend is the gorgeous, sunny and cheery Kristy. We met in the later high school years while getting into that really bad-girl stages of our lives! Kristy is an incredible joy to be around with her bubbly enthusiastic personality, love for adventure, and passionate support for her friends. We stayed tight right up until our 21st birthdays but went our separate ways, with her moving to Adelaide and me going to Italy. Fate has a way of bringing people together and when I moved to Adelaide a few years ago, we caught up and picked up right where we had left off! Despite her abandoning me for Alice Springs, I have so much love for this girl and she makes magic wherever she goes.

There are so many more wonderful women I can name, and I fear I will clog up this whole page with love for all the amazing souls I am deeply appreciative of, therefore I will wrap it up here. Know one thing, you are all stars, and you deserve to be celebrated every single day. I hope you do!

Who are the important women in your life, and how are you showing your appreciation for them today? If you’re female, what successes are you celebrating for yourself? Take some time to acknowledge your journey and how far you have come. Go out there and live your dreams, take this as a sign from the universe that you have all you need to make your dreams come true! So start now!

Today I had my Leadership class with the wonderful Marion. The class is so interesting and almost tackles psychology as we explore the various styles of managers and team support. There is a lot to learn and it can get overwhelming and just when I thought I would break, at 2:30pm, Marion played the following TED Talk by Sheryl Samburg that just blew my mind. I strongly urge you to take a few minutes to watch this insightful talk about women in leadership and what we can do TODAY to encourage their success, and yes, this includes your own!

Spread some love today, even if it’s just to your cat xo

Author: Narelle Pignotti

lover of words . travel junkie . fundraising advocate . community spirit . photography enthusiast .

Leave a Reply

